Nebula Award Weekend Honors Harlan Ellison

harlan ellisonHarlan Ellison — a name that conjures a plethora of emotions from those who say his name. I can say this, because I was recently at a con where his name came up often and with much respect as well as rolling of eyes.

Ellison has been called irascible, curmudgeonly and a great writer. Since his first sale to Infinity Science Fiction in 1955, he’s won eight and a half Hugo Awards, three Nebula Awards, many script-writing awards for his television work, two Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America, two World Fantasy Awards, including their Lifetime Achievement Award, and five Bram Stoker Awards from the Horror Writers Association, including their Lifetime Achievement Award. He was part of the science fiction movement in the 1960s called the New Wave and his influence is still quite strong.

Recently, the SFWA’s Board of Directors named him a Grand Master. He will be honored at next year’s Nebula Award Weekend to be held May 4-7 in Tempe, Ariz.

conniewillisConnie Willis, winner of six Nebula Awards, eight Hugo Awards, and nine Locus Poll Awards, will serve as Toastmaster and William F. Nolan, author of Logan’s Run, will be Author Emeritus.

If you can make it out to Tempe — this will probably be a very interesting event.

WHAT: 2006 Nebula Awards Weekend
WHERE: Tempe Mission Palms Hotel, Tempe, Ariz.
WHEN: May 4-7, 2006, starting at 6pm on Thursday

For more information:

Share your travels!

About the author

As The Genre Traveler, Carma Spence loves to view the world through Genre-Coloured glasses. In other words, she sees the world through a lens of science fiction, fantasy, and horror, where trash cans can be Daleks in disguise and neighborhood forests can harbor faeries and sprites. Magic realism is real! Or at least you can choose to see the world that way to add to the fun and awe of life.

1 comments on “Nebula Award Weekend Honors Harlan Ellison”

  1. Pingback: The Genre Traveler » Nebula Award Weekend Update

Comments are closed.